Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » STLCC-Meramec’s Student Newspaper Receives Sweepstakes Award from MCMA

STLCC-Meramec’s Student Newspaper Receives Sweepstakes Award from MCMA

April 10, 2014

Montage staff  
Staff members of the Meramec Montage are front row, from left, Darla Minor, Spencer Gleason and Justin Villmer, second row, from left, Jason Jamison, Cassie Kibens and
Cory Montero; and back row, from left, Billy Gardner, David Kloeckener, Rebecca
Biundo and Jake Hunn.

The Montage, St. Louis Community College-Meramec's student newspaper, earned numerous individual awards and the Sweepstakes Award for the most awards in the two-year college division at the recent Missouri College Media Association (MCMA) annual convention and awards ceremony in Kirksville, Mo.


The Montage received first place in the Sweepstakes category and third place for the Best Overall Newspaper in the two-year college division, first place for its Back to School Guide, first place for its website, and 24 additional staff and individual awards.


The Montage staff competed against several other two-year school newspapers from across the state. Entries in the competition were judged for general excellence by members of the Missouri Press Association.


Individual award winners included:

·         Spencer Gleason, first place, news writing; second place, sports writing; first and third place, sports column.

·         Cassie Kibens, first place, feature writing

·         Kavahn Mansouri and Dorian Roberts, first and third place, in-depth writing.

·         David Kloeckener, first and third place, sports photography.

·         Cory Montero, third place, editorial cartoon.

·         Cory Montero, Spencer Gleason Rebecca Buindo and Kenndra Roberts, second place and honorable mention, information graphics.

·         Kelly Glueck and Cory Montero, first and second place, story illustration.

·         Cory Montero, Kavahn Mansouri, Lilly Huxhold and Cassie Kibens, honorable mention, Page 1 design.

·         Staff, first place, editorial section.

·         Spencer Gleason, David Kloeckener, Hans Steinert and Kelly Glueck, first and third place, sports page.

·         Spencer Gleason, Dennis Parks, Cassie Kibens, Jake Hunn, Lilly Huxhold and Tegan Mazurek, second and third place, photo page.

·         Kelly Glueck and Kurt Oberreither, honorable mention, feature page.

·         Staff, first place, special section.

·         Spencer Gleason and Hans Steinert, second place, multimedia.


The Montage has consistently won awards for excellence in student journalism at the state and national levels for many years. Recent awards include national recognition from the Society of Professional Journalists with a Mark of Excellence Award and a Pacemaker award from the Associated Collegiate Press.