Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Martin, Ross Elected to Seats on STLCC Board of Trustees

Martin, Ross Elected to Seats on STLCC Board of Trustees

April 06, 2017

Kevin M. Martin, Ed.D., and Pam Ross will be sworn in as trustees of St. Louis Community College as a result of their victories in the April 4 election.

Martin was the winner among nine candidates for the Subdistrict 1 seat, including incumbent Derek Novel. Ross defeated two other candidates for the Subdistrict 2 seat. Martin will serve the three years remaining on this seat's term while Ross will serve the full six-year term.

Both new trustees will be sworn in at the April 20 board meeting at the college’s Florissant Valley campus.

The uncertified results of the Subdistrict 1 race saw Martin garner 7,878 votes to outdistance runner-up Candace Gardner with 6,413 votes. Other candidates and vote totals were Marsha Bonds (5,439), Marcus Adams (4,886), Novel (4,737), Miranda Avant-Elliott (4,123), Theodis Brown Sr. (4,047), Veronica Avery-Moody (3,274) and D. Louis Gray (2,431).

Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts.

Ross (14,303 votes) defeated Patrick Burke (6,823) and Ciera Simril (6,578) in the Subdistrict 2 race.

Subdistrict 2’s approximate boundaries extend from the northern limits of St. Louis City south along the city limit to Oakland Avenue; southeast from Kingshighway along Park, 39th, Jefferson and Osage to Interstate 55 and Gasconade; east on Gasconade to the Mississippi River; and north along the river back to its starting point.

The STLCC Board of Trustees is a seven-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. District voters elect board members periodically for six-year terms. One at-large board member is appointed by the Missouri Higher Education Commission. 

The board is responsible for determining the policies of the college within the legal framework established by statutes of the state of Missouri. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities.

Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.