Facebook pixel Filing opens Dec. 11 for STLCC Board of Trustees seat

Filing opens Dec. 11 for STLCC Board of Trustees seat

Filing for the Subdistrict 3 seat on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees opens Tuesday, Dec. 11 at 8 a.m.

The Subdistrict 3 seat is currently held by Joan McGivney, who was elected to the seat in 2013.

Filing for the seat closes Tuesday, Jan. 15 at 4 p.m. An election will take place April 2, 2019, to fill the seat. The winner of the Subdistrict 3 seat will serve a six-year term.

St. Louis Community College is governed by six board members representing the four subdistricts of the College service area and one appointed board member.

Subdistrict 3 includes southern and southwest portions of St. Louis City and the school districts of Maplewood, Richmond Heights, Kirkwood, Affton, Bayless, Brentwood and Webster Groves.

Individuals seeking the trustee seat must be at least 21 years of age and must be a resident voter of Subdistrict 3 for at least one year before the April 2 election. Each declaration of candidacy must be notarized before it is returned to the office of the associate for board relations at Corporate College, 3221 McKelvey Road, St. Louis, MO 63044. Declarations of candidacy and a description of the subdistrict are available in the associate for board relations office at Corporate College. The office is open Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.; however, it will be closed Dec. 24 through Jan. 2, 2019 in observance of winter break.

The placement of candidates’ names on the ballot shall be determined according to the order of filing by candidates, except that a lottery system will be used to place candidates' names on the ballot for those candidates who file prior to 4 p.m. on Dec. 11. All candidates will be notified about the lottery and all other requirements for filing for office at the time they receive filing forms.

For more information, contact Jessica Grove, associate for board relations, at 314-539-5154.

Back to top