Facebook pixel Scene Earns 27 Awards from MCMA

Scene Earns 27 Awards from MCMA

Scene newspaper staff members
























The Scene, St. Louis Community College-Forest Park’ student newspaper, won 27 awards at the recent Missouri College Media Association Convention.

The Scene placed second in the Best Overall Newspaper category, which represents judging on three complete issues; and second in the Sweepstakes category, which tallies total number of awards and assigns more weight to higher-level awards.

The Scene staff members won nine individual first-place awards. They also swept awards in two categories: feature writing and photo page. 

The Scene also received a first-place award for its website, which was revamped in fall 2017 by Victor Paletta.
Individual Awards

News Writing -- Joshua Phelps, Timothy Bold and Jason Ethridge, first place; and Joshua Phelps, third place

Feature Writing -- Jason Ethridge, first and second place; Joshua Phelps, third place

Sports Writing – Timothy Bold, first place

Feature Photography – Destini Clark, second place

News Photography -- Daniel Shular, second place

Editorial/Political Cartoon -- Arrak Hutcherson, first and third place

Non-Political/Entertainment Cartoon -- Arrak Hutcherson, third place

Page One Design – Scene staff, second and third place

Feature Page -- Daniel Shular, Timothy Bold and Jeanette Dixon, first place

Photo Page -- Antonio Lloyd, Timothy Bold and Jeanette Dixon, first place; Daniel Shular, Timothy Bold and Jeanette Dixon, second and third place

In-Depth News Writing -- Daniel Shular, first place; Joshua Phelps, honorable mention

Investigative Reporting -- Jason Ethridge, second place; Jason Ethridge, Joshua Phelps and Jonny Geigle, third place

Column Writing -- Soroda Nasiri, first place and honorable mention; Joshua Phelps, third place.













Back to top