Facebook pixel Martin Retains Seat; Luebke Elected to STLCC Board of Trustees

Martin Retains Seat; Luebke Elected to STLCC Board of Trustees

Kevin M. MartinKevin M. Martin, Ed.D., will retain his seat as a Subdistrict 1 representative on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees. Martin, the current board chair, will serve a six-year term. 

In the June 2 election, Martin, who serves as a middle school principal in the Parkway School District, defeated Theodis Brown Sr., chief of the Castlepoint Fire Protection Association and a trustee of the Castlepoint Community Association. 

Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts. 

Mary Luebke will be sworn in for a first term as a Subdistrict 4 representative for a six-year term. Incumbent Eleftheria “Libby” Fitzgerald chose not to seek re-election. 

Luebke, professor emeritus at STLCC-Florissant Valley who served in a variety of capacities, defeated Patrick McKelvey, an academic advisor at Southwestern Illinois College. 

Mary LuebkeSubdistrict 4 includes the school districts of Parkway, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park, Meramec Valley, Hancock Place and small portions of Jefferson and Franklin counties. 

Unofficial Results

The uncertified vote from the St. Louis County Board of Elections was 20,970 for Martin, 14,135 for Brown and 252 write-in votes. There were 91 invalid write-in votes. 

The uncertified vote from the election boards for St. Louis, Jefferson and Franklin counties for Luebke was 20,352, and 13,966 for McKelvey. There were 156 write-in votes and 77 invalid write-in votes. 

Martin and Luebke will be sworn in at the next board of trustees meeting. It is scheduled for June 25 at 6 p.m. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the meeting will be conducted via video conference. 

Back to top