Facebook pixel Local Scholars Accepted into the Emerson STEM Academy

Local Scholars Accepted into the Emerson STEM Academy

St. Louis Community College at Florissant Valley has accepted scholars from the Ferguson-Florissant, Hazelwood, Jennings, and Ritenour school districts into the Emerson STEM Academy for fall 2022.

Nicholas SaveryStudents are selected for the ESA after submitting an application, including essays and recommendations, and completing an interview. Selection for this dual enrollment program is competitive and requires students to meet the following goals by the time of high school graduation:

  1. Be interested in pursuing a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, or Math) major or career.
  2. Be willing to complete at least 12 hours of college credit before high school graduation.
  3. Be willing to take and pass MTH:140 or place into MTH:160 or higher STEM math.
  4. Have a cumulative, unweighted GPA of 2.5 or higher (3.0 recommended).

In addition to the academic benefits of taking dual enrollment courses, students in the ESA program also receive the following:

  • Textbooks, materials and supplies are covered for dual enrollment courses.
  • Students have access to the exclusive ESA Suite, which is complete with computers, a place to store belongings and a place to meet.
  • Students have access to all the benefits provided to STLCC students, including Universal Pass (U-PASS enables students to ride the MetroBus and MetroLink at no extra cost.), student clubs and activities, academic success & tutoring services, instructional resources, etc.
  • Students have a dedicated STLCC faculty liaison to serve as a mentor.

Students selected are:


Khyia Henderson, Kenia Rodesno, Lauren Sutton, Tyseanda Walker, Maya Ward, Raynn Warren, Oghenemega Emeje, Anyah Brown, Alexandrine De-Blaise, Honorina Ibucwa, Lesley Mendoza-Gomez, David Middleton, Dylan Rugerio, Ne´Miah Barnett, Donte Carter, Troy Ellison, Matthew Gaikins, La'Tahvia Williams, Derrick Beal, Elijah Echols, Grace Ford, Antavion Franks, Jossie Gates, Elijah Holman, Jordan Johnson, Kennedy Jones, Daniyah Laney, Kyle McKissick, Asia Moore, Taylor Phillips, Andrea Pool, Cai Tolliver, and Marke’La Worth.


Michael Becton, Zuri Dozier, Rayven Phipps, Daniel Awodeyi, Maura Booher, Jamie Climaco, Dakota Harris, Raishaun Keys, Aryielle Metcalf, Jordyn Peebles, Kierstyn Utley, Jaloni Washington, and Tyleisha Washington.


Danny Thomas, Antoine Chillers, and Bobby Lewis.


Hope Both, Pedro Garcia Garcia, Katie Kurtz, Samantha Lohnes, Tamika Maney, Diane Martinez-Mendoza, James Miller, Flor Maria Quiroz Rivera, Johnathan Torres-Martinez, and Kyla Williams.

“These scholars’ parents and teachers should be proud of them for meeting the requirements of this competitive program. ESA scholars will have an opportunity to leave our campus with college credit, participate in hands-on STEM activities and connect with mentors while they are still in high school,” said Elizabeth Gassel Perkins, Ed.D., president and chief academic officer at STLCC-Florissant Valley.

Districts with at least 10 students participating in the ESA program are also eligible to receive up to $15,000 toward the cost of student transportation from their high school(s) to STLCC for the purpose of participating in dual enrollment courses on campus for fiscal year 2023. 

Three renovated engineering classrooms on Florissant Valley campus house the academy. A $1million grant from Emerson awarded in 2016 made the dedicated space and enrichment program possible.

Back to top