Facebook pixel Two Candidates Vie for STLCC Board of Trustees Seat

Two Candidates Vie for STLCC Board of Trustees Seat

Two candidates will vie for the Subdistrict 3 seat on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees in the April 2 election.

Candidates for the seat are Anne Adams Marshall, a longtime retail salesperson at Neiman Marcus, and Paula Savarino, retired auxiliary service manager at St. Louis Community College-Meramec.

Incumbent Joan H. McGivney chose not to seek reelection.

The winner will serve a full six-year term.

Subdistrict 3 includes southern and southwest portions of St. Louis City and the Maplewood-Richmond Heights, Affton, Bayless, Brentwood, Kirkwood and Webster Groves school districts.

About Anne Adams Marshall
Adams MarshallAnne Adams Marshall is a 34-year employee of Neiman Marcus in retail sales. She received the “You’re What We Are Famous For” Award for the top employee at her store in 1999.

The Glendale, Mo., resident is seeking elected office for the first time.

Marshall said she is running as a community-focused candidate, who believes all decision making for STLCC should be centered on the needs of faculty, students and the St. Louis community.

“These needs can best be served by protecting the rights of faculty and staff, providing support systems for students, and offering equitable opportunities for students from all parts of the metro area,” Marshall said.

A graduate of Webster Groves High School, Marshall attended STLCC-Meramec, Webster University and the University of Missouri-St. Louis. She studied philosophy and art history, but did not complete a degree.

Marshall presently serves on the St. Louis County Prosecutor’s Advisory Board, and is a facilitator for the YWCA Racial Justice Education program. She is the founding director of Indivisible St. Louis, and was a neighborhood team leader for Obama for America in 2008-09.

About Paula Savarino
Paula SavarinoPaula Savarino recently retired after 21 years of employment at St. Louis Community College-Meramec, ending her career as the auxiliary service manager at the campus. Her duties included oversight of all budgets and personnel for the campus bookstore, including all retail and textbook operations, food service, printing and vending.

The lifelong resident of Kirkwood is seeking publicly-elected office for the first time.

Savarino has developed numerous relationships that link the College’s programs with the community’s goals. Her financial acumen and common sense approach to business will help assure accountability to taxpayers, students and faculty. Her commitment to students has always been, and remains, one of her core values.

Savarino steered STLCC commencement activities for 16 years and organized the College's annual golf tournament charity event, which has raised approximately $190,000 in scholarship funds over the past several years. She served on and chaired the College Institutional Affairs Council for two separate terms, and served as a team leader in preparing for the College’s most recent accreditation with the Higher Learning Commission.

Savarino also has experience in visual design, marketing and merchandising for major retail chains in the region, and worked as a consultant in independent retail design.

Savarino attended STLCC-Meramec, and holds a bachelor’s degree from Saint Louis University. She also participated in STLCC’s Chancellor’s Leadership Academy.

An active community volunteer, Savarino served on the Olympic Festival St. Louis steering committee, Kirkwood Arts Council and Fox Theater restoration team. She chaired the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure group at Meramec, and was the founder of St. Peterfest and president of the St. Peter Parish Athletic Association. She currently serves as president of her condo association board.

About the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees
The STLCC Board of Trustees consists of seven members who represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. The Missouri Coordinating Board for Higher Education appoints one trustee. District voters elect board members periodically for six-year terms.

The board is responsible for determining the policies of the College within the legal framework established by statutes of the state of Missouri. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are open to the public.

Back to top