Facebook pixel Forest Park PTK Chapter Claims Regional Honors

Forest Park PTK Chapter Claims Regional Honors

Noreen Dela Pena, Tram Nguyen and Franklyn Taylor

Members of Xi Epsilon, the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society chapter at St. Louis Community College-Forest Park, claimed several awards at the recent Missouri PTK Regional Convention.

The chapter earned Five Star Status. It also captured a Distinguished Chapter award, recognition for both Honors in Action Theme and Honors in Action Project. It also received Distinguished Officer Team distinction. Two students, Noreen Dela Pena and Tram Nguyen, earned individual awards. Dela Pena was named a Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Bronze Scholar and was named to the All--Missouri Academic First Team. Nguyen received a Distinguished Officer Award and also was named to the All-Missouri Academic First Team.

Dela Pena’s Bronze Scholar Award carried with it a $1,000 scholarship. Dela Pena is part of the Early College Academy at Forest Park. She is majoring in general transfer studies and will be attending the University of Missouri-St. Louis this fall to obtain a bachelor’s degree in biology. Noreen was born in the Philippines and has been residing in St. Louis for the last five years.

The Coca-Cola Foundation scholarship program recognizes high achieving two-year college students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor, combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom to benefit society. The program is administered by Phi Theta Kappa.

Nguyen will be graduating in a few weeks with an associate degree in general transfer studies. This fall, the native of Vietnam will attend the University of Missouri-St. Louis to major in actuarial sciences.

Taylor Earns PTK International Award

At PTK Catalyst 2019, the international convention, Dr. Franklyn Taylor, dean of student development and enrollment management at Forest Park, received the Phi Theta Kappa Distinguished College Administrator Award. This award is presented to college vice presidents, deans, or directors serving at postsecondary institutions who have shown strong support of student success on their campus by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students.

Sandra Knight, the PTK chapter adviser at Forest Park, described Taylor as a visionary leader.

“He is very cognizant that in order to create a cradle of student leaders, one must provide venues for education, exposure and challenge. Very early in his tenure at our institution, he initiated a leadership training program to inspire and empower students to become effective leaders. By providing Phi Theta Kappa members with the moral and financial support to participate in scholarly and leadership opportunities, at the regional and national levels, Dr. Taylor not only exposes them to new experiences, but also challenges them to continue to engage both on campus and community, while flourishing academically.”

Back to top