Facebook pixel Missouri Municipal Elections Slated for June 2

Missouri Municipal Elections Slated for June 2

Thursday, May 14, 2020


All municipal elections in the state of Missouri that had been scheduled for Tuesday, April 7, will now be held on Tuesday, June 2. 

Gov. Mike Parson signed the executive order March 18 to protect the health and safety of Missouri voters during the COVID-19 virus pandemic. 

This action impacts the races for two seats on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees, which appear on the ballot in St. Louis County, as well portions of Franklin and Jefferson counties. 

Candidates will vie for one seat each in Subdistrict 1 and 4. The winners will serve six-year terms.

Registered voters in the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts will select the Subdistrict 1 winner. Incumbent board chair Kevin M. Martin, Ed.D., will be opposed by Theodis Brown Sr. 

Registered voters in the school districts of Parkway, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park, Meramec Valley, Hancock Place and small portions of Jefferson and Franklin counties will choose the Subdistrict 4 winner. Mary Luebke, a former STLCC administrator and faculty member, will face Patrick McKelvey, an academic advisor at Southwestern Illinois College and assistant women’s basketball coach at Fontbonne University, in this race. 

STLCC Board of Trustees Candidate Profiles 

According to the executive order, voters who reached the age of 18 by April 7 will be allowed to cast a ballot on June 2 or vote by absentee ballot. Voter registration, however, closed March 11. 

Additionally, the deadline to apply for an absentee ballot is Wednesday, May 20. In-person absentee ballots may be cast until 5 p.m. on June 1. Absentee ballots must be received by the appropriate election authority by 7 p.m. on June 2. Military and overseas voters must request a ballot from an election authority by 5 p.m. on Friday, May 29. Military and overseas ballots must be received by the election authority by Friday, June 5. 

For more information, voters are encouraged to contact their local election authority at the following links:
St. Louis County
Franklin County
Jefferson County 


Back to top