Facebook pixel STLCC-Florissant Valley honors Emerging Scholars Class of 2021

STLCC-Florissant Valley honors Emerging Scholars Class of 2021

Thursday, November 11, 2021

Emerging Scholars group photo

Six students who initially struggled with coursework were honored at the 25th annual Emerging Scholars Awards Banquet Nov. 4 at St. Louis Community College-Florissant Valley.

Iola Jones, Emerging Scholar of the YearDuring the celebration, the students were honored as Emerging Scholars for earning a 3.5 grade-point average. One of the students, Iola Knox, also was named the Emerging Scholar of the Year.

Ferguson Mayor Ella Jones was the guest speaker.

To be selected as an Emerging Scholar, students must complete at least two or more developmental courses in English, math or reading. In addition, they must complete 24 or more college level credit hours at STLCC-Florissant Valley while maintaining a GPA of 3.5 or above. Students who meet the criteria are invited by a committee to apply for the recognition.

“This is a very special program that we are proud to offer Florissant Valley students,” said Elizabeth Gassel Perkins, Ed.D., campus president and chief academic officer. “The students have worked incredibly hard to complete their developmental courses and have proven to themselves and others that they have the skills necessary to achieve academic excellence.”

During the ceremony, students received an award and certificate from the College. The faculty or staff who the student identified as having made the most significant impact on their success were named Mentors, and also received an award and certificate.

This year’s Emerging Scholars and Mentors are:

  • Agnes GichuhiChristopher Stoer, adjunct, biological science; and Brian Bozek, professor, mathematics
  • Vanessa HurtadoRita Pernik, professor, mathematics
  • Lucy Kihiu Aundrea Warren-Jackson, assistant professor, biological science
  • Janice KithinjiTimothy Layton, associate professor, English; and Gary Forde, associate professor, psychology
  • Iola KnoxElida Kraja, professor, accounting
  • Jalisa WilliamsRashaun Henry, project associate II, vice president of student affairs office; and Maurice Davis, senior student success advisor.

Ferguson Mayor Ella JonesEmerging Scholars Award recipients received paid memberships into Phi Theta Kappa, the largest honor society in American higher education. In addition, scholarships were awarded to some recipients based on financial need.

The Emerging Scholars program was established in 1996 at Florissant Valley to recognize academic excellence and encourage students taking developmental courses. Since then, the program has been adopted districtwide and provided students with thousands of dollars in scholarships.

For more information about STLCC’s Emerging Scholars program or to donate to it, contact the STLCC Foundation at 314-539-5472.

(In the group photo above, the Emerging Scholars Class of 2021 are, from left, Agnes Gichuhi, Vanessa Hurtado, Janice Kithinji, Iola Knox and Jalisa Williams. Lucy Kihiu is not pictured.)

Back to top