Facebook pixel High School Students Accepted into Emerson STEM Academy

High School Students Accepted into Emerson STEM Academy

Wednesday, June 2, 2021


Emerson STEM Academy students and administrators share a moment during a breakfast held Dec. 13, 2019.

Students from three area school districts will participate in the Emerson STEM Academy for fall 2021 at St. Louis Community College-Florissant Valley.

The students are from the Ferguson-Florissant, Hazelwood and Ritenour school districts. They were selected after submitting an application that included essays and recommendations, and completing an interview. Selection for this dual enrollment program is competitive and requires students to meet the following goals by the time of high school graduation:

  1. Be interested in pursuing a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, or Math) major or career.
  2. Be willing to complete at least 12 hours of college credit before high school graduation.
  3. Be willing to take and pass MTH 140 or place into MTH 160 or higher STEM math.
  4. Have a cumulative, unweighted GPA of 2.5 or higher (3.0 recommended).

In addition to the academic benefits of taking dual enrollment courses, students in the ESA program also receive the following:

  • Textbooks, materials and supplies are covered for dual enrollment courses.
  • Students have access to the exclusive ESA Suite, which is complete with computers, a place to store belongings and a place to meet.
  • Dual enrollment students have access to all the benefits provided to STLCC students, including Universal Pass (U-PASS enables students to ride the MetroBus and MetroLink at no extra cost), student clubs and activities, academic success and tutoring, instructional resources, and more.
  • Students have a dedicated STLCC faculty liaison to serve as a mentor.

Students chosen from the Ferguson-Florissant School District are Elijah Echols, Oghenemega Emeje, Grace Ford, Elyse Gipson, Elijah Holman, Jordan Johnson, Kennedy Jones, Kelvin Mobley, Grace Raycraft and Ananda Shannon.

Hazelwood School District participants are Daniel Awodeyi, Maura Booher, Jamie Climaco, Daria Ford, Dakota Harris, Bria Hughley, Raishaun Keys, Aryielle Metcalf, Jordyn Peebles, Kierstyn Utley, Maya Viviano, Jaloni Washington and Tyleisha Washington.

Ritenour School District representatives are Enrique Castillo, London Collins and Alexandra Sanchez.

“I’m pleased to welcome this new group of students into the Emerson STEM Academy and tell them congratulations,” said Elizabeth Gassel Perkins, Ed.D. “They met the requirements of this competitive program that will enable them to earn college credit, work with mentors and participate in the program’s various STEM activities while they are still in high school.

“I’m glad we’re able to provide this amazing opportunity to them, and I know this program will only enhance their abilities and prepare them for careers in these areas.”

Districts with at least 10 students participating in the ESA program are also eligible to receive up to $15,000 toward the cost of student transportation from their high school(s) to STLCC to participate in dual enrollment courses on campus for fiscal year 2022.

The academy is housed in three renovated engineering classrooms on the Florissant Valley campus. A $1 million grant from Emerson awarded in 2016 made the dedicated space and enrichment program possible.

Back to top