Facebook pixel Larson Runs Unopposed for STLCC Board of Trustees Seat

Larson Runs Unopposed for STLCC Board of Trustees Seat

Craig Larson, Ed.D.Incumbent Craig Larson, Ed.D., will run unopposed for the Subdistrict 4 seat on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees in the April 5 election.

Larson will serve his third six-year term on the STLCC board.

“I am excited about the progress STLCC has made over the last several years, especially in expanded partnerships with area employers,” Larson said. “In the years ahead, using funds the local community is providing through the recently passed Prop. R, STLCC must continue to grow and transform itself. STLCC is a critical resource for students and employers. We are positioned to become one of America’s most effective community colleges.”

St. Louis Community College is governed by six board members who represent the four subdistricts of the College service area and one appointed board member.

Subdistrict 4 includes the school districts of Parkway, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park, Meramec Valley, Hancock Place and small portions of Jefferson and Franklin counties.

Larson, who resides in Manchester, Mo., currently is an area supervisor of instruction for Missouri’s Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. In that role, he works with 14 St. Louis region school districts, including a number in north St. Louis County. He retired from K-12 school administration in 2010 after a 38-year career as a teacher and a building and district administrator. He served 11 years as principal of Parkway South High and ended his administrative career serving seven years as the Rockwood School District superintendent.

Larson was first elected to the STLCC Board of Trustees in 2010 and was re-elected in 2016. During his tenure on the board, he has served two terms as board chair and has been active with the STLCC Foundation.

Larson has served on the Missouri Community College Association’s (MCCA) Advisory Board since 2012 and currently serves as its chair. He has also served as an associate member of several policy committees for the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT). He is also a member of the Association of Governing Boards (AGB) and regularly attends state and national meetings of MCCA, ACCT and AGB.

Larson is a past president of the West St. Louis County Chamber of Commerce, a former member of St. Louis Boy Scouts Board of Directors, and a former commissioner with the St. Louis County Media Commission.

Larson has received several professional honors, including the St. Louis High School Principal of the Year and the Communications Leadership Superintendent of the Year by the National School Public Relations Association.

Larson holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in education from the University of Kansas, an administrative certificate from Washington University, and a doctorate in education from Saint Louis University.

Back to top