Facebook pixel Moore-Davis to Receive PTK’s Gordon Award

Moore-Davis to Receive PTK’s Gordon Award

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society will recognize six college presidents with the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction during PTK Catalyst 2023, the society’s annual convention in Columbus, Ohio, April 20-22.

Feliccia Moore-Davis, Ph.D.Among those to be honored will be Feleccia Moore-Davis, Ph.D., president and chief academic officer at St. Louis Community College-Meramec.

To be eligible for the Gordon award, college presidents and CEOs must have served in their role for at least five years. Recipients are nominated by students on their campus and are only eligible to receive the award once over the course of their career. The six recipients were selected from among 604 college presidents eligible to receive this award.

The award recognizes college presidents who have shown support of student success initiatives leading to stronger pathways to completion, transfer and employment. They have taken an active interest in supporting high-achieving students and developing student leaders on campus.

“These college presidents have made it a priority to support student success both inside and outside the classroom,” said Lynn Tincher-Ladner, Phi Theta Kappa president and CEO. “This award is special because it comes directly from the students, and it is evidence of the gratitude they feel for the support for them and students like them.”

Moore-Davis was named Meramec’s president in August 2019. She has more than 20 years of experience in higher education, from teaching to administrative roles, within community colleges. Moore-Davis earned her doctorate in organizational leadership from Regents University. She holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Xavier University in New Orleans, and a master’s degree in industrial/organizational psychology from Texas A&M University. Her professional service includes the American Association of Community College Commission on Institutional Infrastructure and Transformation, Capitol Center Youth Services and American Council of Education of Women’s Network. 

The Shirley B. Gordon Award is Phi Theta Kappa’s most prestigious award for community college presidents and is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest-serving Board of Directors Chair and a founder and long-time president of Highline Community College in Washington.

About Phi Theta Kappa
Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The society is made up of more than 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. 

Back to top