Facebook pixel State Authorization

State Authorization

St. Louis Community College participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements.

Many states require institutions be authorized to offer distance education to its residents. Each state has an authorization process for out-of-state institutions delivering distance learning programs to ensure quality education, preserve the academic integrity of an earned degree, and to provide consumer protection.

The National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (NC-SARA) was established as an agreement among member states, districts, and territories to provide a streamlined process for obtaining authorization in each state and to:

  • Improve distance education program quality nationwide
  • Make it easier for students to access distance programs across state lines
  • Make it easier for institutions to offer distance programs across state lines
  • Provide oversight/accountability to protect both students and the institution

Membership in NC-SARA is voluntary and allows participating institutions to offer distance education to residents of NC-SARA member states.

St. Louis Community College is an approved member of NC-SARA, and therefore, is authorized to offer distance education courses and programs to residents in all 49 NC-SARA member states, as well as to residents of the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico.

Additionally, while the state of California and the territory of Guam are not members of NC-SARA, these residents may take advantage of STLCC’s distance offerings as we are in compliance with all California state regulations, and Guam does not regulate distance education.

Some states require additional authorizations for out-of-state institutions sponsoring field experiences or for programs/courses leading to professional licensure; please visit our Field Experiences & Professional Licensure page for more information.

In the event an out-of-state student should wish to file an academic and/or consumer complaint; the STLCC student complaint process should be followed.

St. Louis Community College offers distance education programs and courses to students residing in the following states and territories:

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas
California Colorado Connecticut Delaware
District of Columbia Florida Georgia Guam
Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana
Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana
Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan
Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana
Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey
New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota
Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota
Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont
Virgin Islands Virginia Washington West Virginia
Wisconsin Wyoming    
btn leftbtn right
Back to top